Classically Evil's Blog

Home, Bath and Body Products for the Unique Individual

The Past No Longer Is. The Future Has Not Yet Come.

Life is all about beginnings and endings.  We see this every day from the miniscule to the gigantic.  Today I was looking for some inspiration and I found something the Buddha taught:

“Do not pursue the past.
Do not lose yourself in the future.
The past no longer is.
The future has not yet come.
Looking deeply at life as it is
in the very here and now,
the practitioner dwells
in stability and freedom.
We must be diligent today.
To wait until tomorrow is too late.
Death comes unexpectedly.
How can we bargain with it?
The sage calls a person who knows
how to dwell in mindfulness
night and day
‘one who knows
the better way to live alone.’ ” *

I felt that this was particularly inspirational today.  Wednesday (March 28th) symbolizes two very important things for me personally.  One, it’s my anniversary of meeting my boyfriend and two, the day that I am officially finished with residing in Los Angeles.  This is truly bittersweet.  I am grateful for everything that I have achieved while living in Los Angeles, but I am excited to find out what the future holds. 

It is so easy for us to dwell in the past or live in the future.  Is this because we are not so thrilled with how our present has turned out?  Are we so stressed as a society that we can’t even cope with the mundane?  Or are we on sensory under-load and we need some kind of excitement?  I know that for me, a sufferer of Borderline Personality Disorder, I had great difficulty living in the present.  I blamed my past for why I couldn’t achieve my dreams and focused on what tomorrow would bring.  It is something that I struggle with every day.  But I know that each day gets a little easier with Mindfulness.

With the new outlook on life I have completed my Classically Evil workspace here in Irvine.

I’ve also officially started the Etsy shop.  http://classicallyevil.etsy.com.  I don’t currently have any products up yet.  I am still finalizing the product line as well as packaging and labels.  I’m hoping to have the packaging ordered, the products finalized, and the Etsy site finished by tomorrow.  I’m also hoping to have the labels finished by the end of the week.

I’ve also been working on some great recipes for the kitchen as well as the bath!  Fun recipes to come!

* Adapted from the Bhaddekaratta Sutta, translated by Thich Nhat Hanh (Teachings of the Buddha, Jack Kornfield, 1993.  Knowing a Better Way to Live.  Pgs. 114 – 115).

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

