Classically Evil's Blog

Home, Bath and Body Products for the Unique Individual

Finding Balance

It’s been a long time since I posted, well, anything and this is quite regrettable.  Over the last month it has been hard for me to find time to work on the blog, let alone the shop.  It’s been hard, not because I’ve been super crazy busy, but let’s face it, sometimes it’s hard to pull yourself away from the day-to-day.

Recently I acquired a temp position to help with the bills.  This is great, but also has been taking up some of the time that I would normally devote to the shop.  I could sit here all night and say how long my commute is (it isn’t.  It’s 15 minutes max) or how stressful the job is (it isn’t at all) but those would be lies to make myself feel better for being lazy.  That’s right.  I’m not going to sugar-coat it.  I know that I can find that balance between home life, work, and Classically Evil if I just put my mind to it.

The other day I sat down and was thinking of ways to try to find that balance between those 3 areas of my life.  I’ve been trying to just go with the flow and how I felt (but that was getting me nowhere, clearly).  I went scientific and decided to create a pie chart to divide up all of my free time in a week and make sure it went together in the appropriate percentages.  I realized as ambitious as that was, I wasn’t going to calculate my life down to the last-minute.  When you are an artistic individual, planning your life like that does not happen.  So then I was back to square one.  Then it hit me.  I’ve got the work time already planned out, so I’m good there.  No worries on that end.  I’ve got the alone time at night right before bed usually (which is nice – vegging out in front of the TV in bed without a worry in the world).  But on the weekdays between 5:30 and 10.  That’s where I find the trouble.

Fortunately enough, Classically Evil is done completely out of my house (which is a blessing and a curse).  It’s great because whenever the mood takes me, I can just go in the other room and work on something.  But when I get distracted (Oooh!  Shiny Squirrel!) forget it, I’m not gonna touch it.

So, here’s my solution.  I am going to make the goal that I spend at  least an hour every weeknight (and 2-3 every weekend day) on Classically Evil.  This will give me plenty of time to spend with my loved ones without feeling guilty that I’m ignoring them.  I figure with leaving it kind of open (as to when to do it) but still keeping a slight schedule to it, I think I can stick to it.  Let’s keep our fingers crossed.  🙂

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

